Virtual book launch party

16th March 2010 | Books, Daily Life, Inspirations | 9 comments

Thursday’s the day when Out of Silence is officially published. As I haven’t managed to organise a book launch party, how about a virtual book launch that day?

At 18:00 hours (UK time) on Thursday 18 March, I’m going to raise a glass to toast my readers, wherever they are. If you’d like to take part in my cyber-launch, please join in by raising something at the same time – not necessarily a glass of wine, but maybe a cup of coffee, a biscuit or a square of chocolate. 18:00 in London will be 19:00 hours in Paris, 14:00 in New York and Toronto, and 11:00 in San Francisco, if I’ve understood US Daylight Saving Time correctly. Let the virtual world ring with the cheerful clinking of imaginary cups and glasses!

9 Comments

  1. Steve Zade

    I don’t drink alcohol, but will be happy to raise a flute (French champagne glass) of fruit juice, perhaps inside a flute (a French narrow boat), on Thursday at 6.00 (your time) to wish you success with the new book. I may even mutter ‘flute alors’, meaning ‘gracious me’. Steve.

    Reply
  2. Susan Tomes

    That’s great, Steve. Now I know that at least one other person will be joining in on Thursday – and in Paris too! Thank you.

    Reply
  3. Alison

    I shall join you in north Wales, where I shall be staying for a few days. (Marvellous excuse to suspend one’s Lenten abstinence for an evening. Yaroo!)

    Reply
    • Susan Tomes

      Thanks, Alison, that’s lovely – another geographical outpost!

      Reply
  4. Catalyst

    It will be a delight to participate from way over in Calgary! What a creative idea! I have set an alarm to remind myself.
    Many congrats on your book release. I look forward to reading it.

    Reply
    • Susan Tomes

      What a pleasant surprise to have someone joining in in Calgary! Thank you, Catalyst. I’m starting to think there’s mileage in the idea of virtual parties – even if they only last for less than a minute.

      Reply
  5. Russ Burnett

    Mine will just be water from a pitcher in my office, but count me in nonetheless (Newark, Delaware, USA). I too look forward to reading the new book; “Beyond the Notes” was very insightful and enjoyable.

    Reply
    • Susan Tomes

      Thank you, Russ – how delightful to have an ambassador from Delaware!

      Reply
  6. Gretchen Saathoff

    Congratulations, Susan! @pnoman just posted the link to the Guardian excerpts on Twitter.

    I feel soooooooo late, but am delighted to have read the excerpts.

    Perhaps I’ll have a drink.

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best reads of the year

Best reads of the year

A reader has asked me to specify my favourite books of the year. I keep a note in my diary of the books I read, and this year I read...

read more